Reviews

on Apr 06, 2016
Amazing Honeymoon!!

We had the most amazing honeymoon here at Sago Cottage. We were pleasantly greeted by Susan when we arrived and were shown around the cottage, which had it all. The view is absolutely breathtaking. We try to show pictures and explain how amazing it is but there is no putting it into words. It does take ~4 minutes to get up from the main road but for us it was fun driving on the bumpy road. The cottage was very clean and well taken care of! We loved how there were only screens in the windows to allow the fresh air to come through. According to the locals, we were there during the warmest and most humid time and it wasn't an issue not having AC. Sago had snorkeling gear, beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, and everything else we needed. We didn't do much cooking only because it was our honeymoon, but the kitchen was fully equipped if we had chosen to do so. There was even a grill on the deck. We also loved the outdoor rock shower and hot tub. FYI - you can't use your cell phone but the wifi allowed us to email and iMessage who we needed to throughout the week and the cottage phone made local calls.
Susan also had great recommendations on what we could do while on the island. Bryan, who works as a greeter for Calabash Cottages, takes people out on a lap around St. John on Wednesdays on his catamaran named Busy Bee. We loved snorkeling so we were very interested so Susan went out of her way to check on availability for us. We had an amazing time thanks to her info and his trip!
We couldn't have had a more relaxing honeymoon. We loved being on Coral Bay because we were still able to meet locals and other travelers but it was more low key with a better view and breeze. We didn't mind driving to Cruz Bay either when we did choose to go over there. We appreciated all the help from Susan and the rest of her team and the calls throughout the week to see if we needed anything! We cannot wait to make a trip back and stay with you again.

Owner's Response:

Hi Kim and Lee, I really enjoyed meeting you both. I've told several people what troopers you guys were. No one would have guessed that you hadn't slept at all the night before your arrival. Glad the snorkel/ boat trip with Bryan worked out. I had a feeling that you two would enjoy that. Thanks for spending your honeymoon at Sago. We hope to see you back someday! Susan

on Apr 06, 2016
Great cottage and an awesome vacation

My wife and I spent our 20th anniversary in the Sago Cottage. Susan and her team was great to work with and helped arrange every detail. The cottage is very well equipped with everything we needed to make our stay fantastic. The views from every room, the deck, the hot tub, and the shower are breathtaking. Thank you for a great stay, we can't wait to go back!

Owner's Response:

Dear Chad, I am very glad to hear that we lived up to your expectations. My whole team tries hard to make sure that your vacation goes well, from the planning to the arrival at the airport and throughout your stay. It's all worthwhile when we hear that we've succeeded. Thank you for staying at Sago. My husband and I built Sago almost 20 years and did the majority of the work ourselves. It was and still is a labor of love and we do our best to keep it well maintained. If you and Gina return to the island we hope to see you again. All the best, Susan

on Apr 06, 2016
The Perfect Vacation Spot

Sago Cottage is a perfect get away location in Coral Bay on St. John. My husband and I have been lucky enough to stay in this cottage four separate vacations. The cottage is clean, comfortable and private. It is conveniently located near some wonderful restaurants and great snorkeling locations. Customer service is exemplary - you are greeted and driven to the location and receive a call during the week to ensure all is well. We look forward to spending time at Sago Cottage for many years into the future.

Owner's Response:

Nothing makes us feel more like we made our guests happy than return visits. So glad to have you back for a fourth visit. The crew let me know that you were excited the improvements and upgrades that we did in the past year which I was very happy to hear. We had a lot of fun doing it! Susan

on Apr 06, 2016
Truly Magical !

Sago is truly a magical place, with one of the most spectacular views in all of the Caribbean. Susan, the owner, sure know how to create an idyllic and romantic setting for honeymooners as well as couples who want to spend a week in paradise. It was a joy working Diane is her very friendly and capable assistant who skillfully attends to all details to make your visit run smoothly. Sago Cottage is located up a steep winding hillside and nestled among lush vegetation. It is a one-bedroom affair with an open plan, high ceilings with fans to keep you cool, a wrap around porch and an outside spa and shower. The interior as well as exterior has tropical blue and green painted shutters, adding to its unique charm. It has every amenity one could need in the tropics. The kitchen is well appointed, and we made good use of it for breakfasts and most dinners. Lunches were spent at the various wonderful local restaurants on our way to or from one of the islands amazing beaches. Evenings were spent soaking in the spa and watching the stars (of full moon, if you’re lucky). The outdoor shower has a view to die for, overlooking various islands in the distance that are incredibly dramatic with the changing light. We have visited many islands and stayed at many places, and we can say, unequivocally, that Sago is one of the most special places the Caribbean has to offer. This was our third time but it definitely not our last!

on Apr 06, 2016
Our Own Piece of Paradise

We stayed at Sago Cottage for our honeymoon, and could not have had a better experience!! The cottage was as charming, if not more so, than it appears online, and the view was phenomenal! The owners made getting to Sago Cottage super easy by meeting us at the ferry, arranging for our rental car and helping us get it picked up, taking us to the grocery store and waiting while we shopped, and then leading the way directly to the cottage to help us get settled in. The road up to Sago Cottage is a trip in itself, and worth the experience to stay a little off the beaten path! We enjoyed cooking at the cottage and eating out on the balcony...best dinner view on the whole island! We were awaken in the early hours one morning to the sound of foot steps coming up the gravel drive, which immediately freaked me out. We got up to investigate, only to find a donkey laying the drive! He spent the rest of the night sleeping in our drive and then departed as the sun was coming up with a joyful breying!! Sago Cottage was a one of a kind experience, and we hope to return some day!

on Apr 06, 2016
Lovely, just lovely!

Once again, I want to thank Susan for a wonderful trip to St. John. We stayed in astral Cottage last year and Sago Cottage this year. Both trips were just what we needed. Astral Cottage is beautiful. Sago cottage was perfect for us. The house had everything we needed and we really enjoyed the hot tub with the cool breezes as we watched exceptional sunrises! What can I say, a week of snorkeling (Waterlemon Cay), wonderful food (Asolare), walks with ruins (Peace Hill), shopping (Mongoose Junction), and a perfect cottage to return home to each evening. All at Calabash Cottages also helped our trips run smoothly with assistance on transfers and jeep rentals. Thanks! We loved everything about astral and Sago Cottages and we plan to return next year for 2 weeks!

on Apr 06, 2016
Best views and location!

My husband and I just spent our 30th anniversary at Sago cottage, and had a fabulous time. The cottage and the views are exactly as shown in the photos. We loved the privacy and quiet of this special place. We found the beaches, snorkeling, and hiking to be the best within a short drive from the cottage on this side of the island. We only went back to Cruz Bay for gas (and the hike to the closest beach there, Solomon Bay, was a let down compared to those closer to "home"). We would highly recommend this cottage for a truly relaxing getaway.

on Apr 06, 2016
THE BEST!!!

The folks at Calabash Cottages, which manages Sago Cottage, made our trip to St. John perfect! They are so efficient and friendly that we had absolutely no glitches or stress! From the moment we contacted them to reserve the week at Sago, they provided all necessary information and assistance--private transportation from the St. Thomas Airport (and return) and rental car. We had stayed at one of the other Calabash properties a few years ago so we knew what to expect. A well-equipped cottage with all the conveniences, a spectacular view, and any needed help while on the island. We have rented other vacation properties in the US and foreign countries, and I can easily say that Susan Brierley and her staff are THE BEST managers anywhere! We can't wait to return to Sago or one of Calabash's other properties!

Owner's Response:

Hi Andrea- It was nice to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your kind words about Sago and our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St. John! Susan

on Apr 06, 2016
Just what we wanted for a romantic getaway!

My husband and I wanted to get away and relax on St. John so the place we stayed was very important to us. We wanted secluded and quiet with excellent views. Sago Cottage was absolutely perfect and we would definitely consider staying there again. The porch was fantastic (our favorite part) and the accommodations provided everything we needed and wanted.
We were also pleasantly surprised at how well we were cared for by Susan and her staff. We were taken care of from the moment we arrived on St. Thomas, given excellent recommendations by her staff, and provided with snorkel gear, beach chairs, and everything we needed to enjoy the island.
I highly recommend Sago Cottage!

on Apr 05, 2016
Perfect Honeymoon!

Sago Cottage is everything we hoped for and more for our honeymoon! If you are like us and do not like resorts and big crowds, this cottage is perfect. Not only is the house set up on a hill with tons of privacy and no neighbors, it is in a great location in Coral Bay, which is a laid back and slow paced part of the island with lots of character and great local spots! While you do have to have a Jeep if you stay here, that was one of our favorite parts was driving around! Just down the hill are some of the best restarurants in Coral Bay so you don't need to drive far if you don't want to. The cottage itself looks exactly like the pictures shown, I thought it was too good to be true! The cottage is clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. There is no A.C. however the fans and breeze felt perfect and we were never uncomfortable. Some other reviews mentioned a problem with bugs, however we were lucky in that we did not have too many. Yes, there were occasional intruders and a few ants in the kitchen by the end of the week, but nothing that a quick wipe down couldn't fix! As long as all your food is kept in the refrigerator there is no problem! The hot tub was amazing and the view around the whole cottage is breathtaking. We were supplied with ample towels, two coolers, two beach chairs, and snorkel gear. The shower is outside and makes you truely feel like you are living the island life with the hummingbirds right above you every morning. The staff at Sago Cottage could not have been more wonderful. We were greeted by Jen at the ferry who drove us to pick up our jeep, stopped by the grocery store with us, then lead us to the cottage and went over our maps. We later booked a Kayak tour with her as well! Our second day we called the office because our snorkel gear did not fit and we were greeted at the bottom of the hill within the hour by Dianne with new gear. The whole process was smooth and enjoyable from the moment we arrived until we left! We have wonderful memories of our time at Sago cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful escape!